Skip to content

Oriflame Visions V* Lipstick : Iced Caffe & Two Twigs Review, Swatches

February 17, 2011

Oriflame Visions V* lipstick was not something which was on my ‘must-try’ or ‘to buy’ list. Rather they were just an impulse and fun buy when I saw these in the catalogue. These are priced really cheap and when I bought them, they were on offer 😀

So I generally picked 2 shades which looked the most appealing to me and something I would wear easily…ICED CAFFE & TWO TWIGS.

 

The Visions V* lipstick comes in a light grey-colored plastic tube with transparent cover. The name of the shade is written on the bottom and the lipstick is visible from the top through the transparent cover. The packaging is not sturdy and I fell it could break if you manage to drop the lipstick.

It is available in 18 shades. I got 2 of them..Iced Caffe & Two Twigs.

ICED CAFFE : This is a light brown shade with just sheen to it. Does not have any shimmer. This works like a nude lipstick for me. This one is slightly sheer.

TWO TWIGS: This shade looks brownish pink in the catalogue but is a medium pink shade in actual. Quite pigmented. Does not have any shimmer.

The quantity of Visions V* lipstick is less that the standard lipsticks available in the market.

Here is a comparison pic to give an idea of Visions V* lipstick (2.5 gm) v/s Maybelline Colorsensational Lipstick (4.2 gms). The lipstick itself is also thinner than the std lipsticks.

Price : Rs. 79 for 2.5 gms. However these are available at discounted prices on offers for much lesser value.

What I like about Oriflame Visions V* Lipstick :

  • These are really very cheap and hence a good option to experiment with colors. You can always try out a new color in this range and then buy it in one of the better options available once you know the right shade.
  • These lipsticks are lesser in quantity compared to other lipsticks as you can see in the above pic and hence smaller in size and look quite cute. Due to smaller size they will fit in just about any size of pouch or handbag.
  • Good option to try out shades for those new to makeup.
  • These doesnt bleed or feather.
  • These are not at all drying on the lips. Ofcourse, not as moisturizing as some other lipsticks in the market. A lipbalm beneath serves well.
  • The color selection is decent. They have about 18 shades you can choose from including reds, corals etc.
  • Since these were priced quite cheap, I was a bit sceptical about the quality of these lipstick. However these have not caused any irritation, burning or any problem to my lips.
  • These do not feel heavy on the lips.
  • Pigmentation is quite decent. Of the 2 shades I have, Iced caffe is a bit sheer.
  • 

What I dont like about Oriflame Visions V* Lipstick :

Though there are a couple of things I dont like about this lipstick, however when you compare it to the price you are paying for the lipstick, you cant expect much rite?

  • The lipstick tube is not of excellent quality plastic. The tube which holds the lipstick is not fixed on the base firmly and it shakes when you hold the tube and move it. Though I havent tried, but it might also break easily if you drop the lipstick.
  • These are not extremely moisturising. Though keeping in mind the price you’ve paid, it may not be wise to compare it with the other lipsticks in your collection and you might not do it intentionally, but when it comes to the feel of this lipstick v/s the others, you will naturally tend to pick up the other more moisturizing ones from your collection over these.
  • The staying power is decent and nothing great.
  • These lipsticks do not have fragrance or smell. Though this may be a pro for some but for me its a con. I like my lipsticks with that little sweet vanilla kind of fragrance 🙂
  • This is a con not only with this lipstick but with all Oriflame products. I can never buy any cosmetic without actually checking out the shade physically myself. Catalogue shopping does not really satisfy me. I need to check the shade myself before buying anything and that is a huge con with Oriflame. You are lucky if you can get a tester for oriflame products from your consultant (Yes, there are testers available which the consultant has to buy) but otherwise its just a huge risk to buy without checking the shade. Though blogs are where this problem can also be solved. I would strongly recommend you to check out swatches of shades online if you are not able to get hold of testers.  

These are not the kind of lipsticks that would enhance your vanity kit or collection but something which you can buy just for the heck of trying out a brand/range or color. This ‘trying out’ will not hurt your pocket at all. Some of you who have been using branded/drugstore lipsticks for quite some time might not find these lipsticks appealing at all. Like I said earlier, these are a good buy just for the fun of it!! Because of the size, these are also a good option to gift younger cousins who might find this small lipstick cute, just my thought.

I am trying to get swatches of as many shades as possible from a friend who is an oriflame consultant. Will try and upload as soon as I can.

Have you tried the Visions V* lipstick ? Which shade do you own ?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 5:17 pm

    i liked iced cafe…. 🙂

    abt your comment on my pic, i wasn’t offended…. but i wish it was real!

    • February 17, 2011 5:22 pm

      🙂 have u tried any visions lipstick?

      ohh..where did u get that from?? me want 1 too 😉

      • February 19, 2011 12:46 am

        no… i haven’t…..

        my hubs got it on one of his travels…. haven’t a clue where u get them in india….

        • February 19, 2011 10:59 am

          did he get it from BKK/thailand?? they are famous for fakes 🙂 i havnt seen it in India

          • March 17, 2011 7:11 pm

            yep 🙂 i saw an SA in my local beauty store carry the same one HD!!! she did not reveal where she got it though

  2. February 17, 2011 5:37 pm

    well argumentated haan 🙂
    i like both..since i’m on my search for my perfect nude..n pinks look good in general
    Vanity No Apologies

    • February 17, 2011 5:41 pm

      just wanted to be fair 🙂

      What shade are you ? If you are somewhere near NC 35 in MAC, try Totally Toffee from colorsensational…kind of my perfect nudish pink 🙂

  3. February 17, 2011 5:48 pm

    I have 1 in this…a mauve color..lil dark but can look gud occassionally types..

  4. February 17, 2011 7:55 pm

    I got 1 of this when it was on offer. Don’t remember the shade, but it looked completely different from the shade in the catalogue. Like you said, it can be bought when you’re trying to experiment with new shades. But I won’t be buying again.

    • February 17, 2011 9:57 pm

      Yes Poohkie..the actual shades are quite different from how it looks in the catalogue…me 2 not buying any more shades 🙂

  5. February 18, 2011 10:05 pm

    I like the shade of two twigs. I haven’t tried out any Oriflame lipsticks yet but I’ve ordered 2 shades from the pure color range. Like you said these are quite affordable if you want to experiment with new shades..I liked your review 🙂

    • February 19, 2011 11:02 am

      Thanks Ankita 🙂 I have heard quite a lot abt the Giordani Gold range but I am scared to order without tester more so coz the Giordani range is expensive too..

  6. March 22, 2011 10:09 am

    @ Anks : hehehe…has to be BKK only…we get quite a few of them at some stores here too and they openly say they get it from there hv seen a lot of LV fakes but not this one!! I want one !!!!

Leave a comment