Skip to content

Neutrogena UltraSheer Dry-Touch Sunblock SPF 50+

February 4, 2011

What it claims : Neutrogena UltraSheer Dry Touch Sunblock SPF 50+  (PA +++) is a breakthrough in sun protection.  Stabilized with Helioplex™ Technology it provides superior balanced broad-spectrum protection against skin-aging UVA and burning UVB rays and combines it with Dry Touch technology for an ultra-light, non-shiny finish. This light weight sunblock has a light fresh scent and is gentle enough even for sensitive skin.

  • Waterproof, sweatproof, resists rub-off
  • Non-comedogenic (wont clog pores)
  • Oil free and PABA free

Neutrogena UltraSheer Sunblock comes in a tube format.

Price : Rs. 450 for 88ml. Use before 2 years from date of manufacturing.

Ingredients :

The sunblock itself is white in color, has a medium runny creamy texture and has a light fragrance. Because of its creamy texture, its quite easy to apply this on the skin.

Helioplex is a patented formulation developed by Neutrogena to provide broad spectrum UVA/UVB protection containing Avobenzone and Oxybenzone. Avobenzone containing products have decreasing efficiency after a few hours of sun exposure, but the addition of Oxybenzone reduces the amount of degradation that occurs.

What I like about Neutrogena UltraSheer Dry-Touch Sunblock :

  • Provides protection against UVA and UVB rays. Has SPF 50+ which is again a high level of sun protection
  • Does not leave a whitish cast after application like many sunblocks/sunscreens
  • Gets easily absorbed in the skin and skin does not feel greasy after application.
  • Due to its medium runny consistency, application of this sunblock is very easy.
  • During summers, I dont need a moisturizer under this. The sunblock is good enough for me. Though in winters a moisturizer is definately reqd. Its quite drying by itself.
  • Like the name, it leaves a matte effect on the skin. Also this is oil-free so I am guessing this would work very well for oily-skinned people.
  • True to its claim, it is waterproof and sweatproof. 

What I dont like about Neutrogena UltraSheer Dry-Touch Sunblock :

  • It could have been more moisturizing. 
  • I find the price to be on a higher side.

Have you tried this sunscreen ? Which is you fav sunscreen?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2011 5:39 pm

    I have tried this sunscreen & it is my fav sunscreen to use when I know I’ll be spending more than an hour in the sun.. On normal days I use Neutrogena fine fairness spf 30 – that does provide more moisture but leaves a white cast 😦

  2. Renuca permalink
    February 5, 2011 9:49 pm

    ya I like this sunscreen too, it has a pleasant fragrance too 🙂

  3. February 11, 2011 4:40 pm

    how do u compare it with d lotus spf 50 spray ?
    I got that after ur review n I love it..I used nomarks 1 before….bt sunscreens sweat me out 😦
    Lotus 1 dint…n its pretty nice..

    • February 11, 2011 10:16 pm

      both work equally fine as far as sun protection is concerned..I just have a wee bit more preferance towards the lotus spray since its much easier to use and not as drying as this one 🙂

      So glad to hear that you liked the lotus spray 😀 I too love it!

Leave a comment